Taking advantage of opportunities

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

I was wandering around today, killing time while waiting for the local photo store to open when a friend stopped me and asked if I’d like to go to a party this weekend. “Its an Andy Warhol theme costume party” I was told and she asked if I’d come and take some pictures.

Now I’m not the most social creature on the planet, but when a good photo opportunity comes up its important to grab them. Especially if you like portraiture. The hardest thing I have found is getting people to stand in front of the camera. Its tough getting a person who will understand your vision(or lack of one) and let you use them to create something. I really think there is some remaining subconscious belief that photos steal your soul. Or, it could simply be, people don’t want to be seen. And by “seen” I mean exposing some inner quality rather than just an outward one. Our society, even with all our advances, has become insular. Be it though the internet or our distrust of “others” we have closed ourselves off from other individuals at times.

I count myself in this group as well. I love the internet and have stayed staring at my computer rather than going outside and meeting people. Not a great choice for an artist. But my own introversion has help me clarify, in my own mind, why I do retreat at times rather than advancing.

This brings me back to the party. I tend to not go to such things with my camera as I worry about damaging it. It would be difficult to replace and expensive. But an opportunity like this doesn’t come every day. And as I also spent the last month shooting buildings and trees I’m sooo ready for some human contact.
…and maybe a beer….two beer.

Comments are closed.